And because I know you’re absolutely fascinated…

03Feb10

I really try to keep this blog minimally bloggy, meaning that I prefer not to make posts like the one I’m about to make, where I talk about the scintillating details of my personal life. Partly because my life isn’t all that scintillating — just one damn thing after another, just like your life — and partly because get your big fat nose out of my business, that’s why!

But given the whole Steve Perry thing, I thought that you, Constant Reader, might be interested in this little tid bit.

Aside from being a writer, I am also a singer; right now I’m singing with an acappella group called Bella Cappella. And guess what song we’re doing next? Why Don’t Stop Believin’, of course, just like everyone else in the flippin’ world! And although I have very strong opinions about some uses for this song, I happen to have no problem at all with Bella Cappella singing it because a) We rock with a mighty rocking, true fact, and b) It’s the Glee arrangement, which is very pretty, and c) we’re entering the talent show at the prerequisite small New England town Unitarian-Universalist church and nothing makes people happy like Don’t Stop Believin’. (Oh and also I’m singing the lead, which may or may not make people happy, but at least it gives me the giggles…)

I’m sure at some point I’ll spout about the glories of Unitarian-Universalism, The One True Faith!

That’s a very funny joke and you would be laughing now if you knew anything about Unitarian-Universalism (The One True Faith!) If you don’t know anything about Unitarian-Universalism you should read this, and then come back to read this other very funny joke:

Q: What do you get when you cross a Unitarian-Universalist with a Jehovah’s Witness?
A: Someone who rings your doorbell for no particular reason.

BWAH HAH HAH! HAH HAH! Ha ha ha ha… ha ha….. ha………..  hoooooooo….

Ahem.

Anyway, this gala event will be taking place in March; I’m sure there will be a total media blitz and recordings will be available… unless I choke, in which case I will track down and destroy every single copy and anyone who gets in my way. True fact.

4 Responses to “And because I know you’re absolutely fascinated…”

  1. So, like you said, I didn’t get the joke until I clicked on the link. And then it was very funny indeed. Well played, madam. 🙂

  2. 2 Deborah Bancroft

    (courtly bow.)

  3. Don’t hate because you know Don’t Stop Believin’ would make an AWESOME national anthem. 😉

    And, like I said before, I hope that there will be a follow-up post with video of this awesome performance.

  4. 4 Amy

    OK so we aren’t doing that number for the UU’s. Maybe we should do it for the cancer patients?


Leave a Reply

